32" Tire for BITD 2016

///Airdam Clutches

Nov 14, 2014
i am not a mechanic by any means. i have never looked at a polaris axle other than seeing them broken and being replaced. but from memory, i think the broached area where the ball rides, is too deep for you to machine any ribs in the cup. i dont have one in hand, and have never held one in hand but going from what i have seen, i think the outer cup to the deepest part that is broached in for the roller bearing is likely only .200-.300 at most. i dont think the cups are very thick at all. if you look at the can-am axle the inner cup is quite large. i believe its a steel cup thats machined smooth, and an aluminum sleeve pressed over it. again, i havent held one in hand but i feel certain the inner race of the cup is steel.

the 930 CVs bolt to a flat faced hub though dont they? i have often wondered why someone doesnt machine something similar for the UTVs and run a much heavier and larger hub that will withstand the dumb stuff you guys put them thru. i think it would be rather easy if you think about it. since the XP1000 rear diff has a thru hole in the ring gear, when you pull both rear axles out you can see all the way thru the diff. machine a piece thats splined and has a flat faced hub that will accept the 930CV. have the two identical pieces machines so both fit in the diff and touch in the middle. have one end drilled and tapped, and the other end bored for a bolt to run thru. so you run a single bolt down the middle of the two bolting them to each other so they are locked in the ring gear. then you have the flat faced hubs outboard and your 930 CVs will bolt up. use 930 inner cups and the OEM polaris outers unless someone builds a specific outer hub that will also accept a larger outer axle shaft.